Your All-Time Widnes 17 Announced

Widnes Vikings are delighted to bring you to the #AllTimeWidnes17, as chosen by you, the supporters, in recent weeks. 

Over the last few months, we have been asking fans to name their all-time Widnes 17 along with Head Coach from their time following the club.

Once the final 18 had been selected, they will be honoured with the the Executive Boxers at the DCBL Stadium being renamed and redecorated to honour those chosen by you. 

The purpose of this initiative is to honour the pioneers and trailblazers who helped put Widnes and Halton on the map with their efforts for the club, recognising home grown talent alongside those who came to the town and left a lasting mark.

This has been done in partnership with Halton Borough Council as part of the Borough of Culture 2021 initiative ‘Celebrate Halton’, by honouring some of the greatest players to pull on the club’s famous jersey.

Given the proud history and tradition of our club, the voting process has no doubt been a difficult one for supporters, with so many great players having worn the black and white shirt of Widnes over a number of decades, and so many great players also missing out on the final side.

We would like to thank our supporters for their continued support of this initiative, with over 50,000 votes being submitted by you across all votes. 

The All-Time Widnes 17 is as follows: 

FULL BACK – Ray Dutton (32.2% of full back vote)

WINGER – Martin Offiah (39.9% of winger vote)

CENTRE – Darren Wright (14.6% of centre vote)

CENTRE – Frank Myler (19.7% of centre vote)

WINGER – Stuart Wright (30.1% of winger vote)

STAND OFF – Tony Myler (48.3% of stand off vote)

SCRUM HALF – Andy Gregory (30.9% of scrum half vote)

PROP – Jim Mills (29.5% of prop vote)

HOOKER – Keith Elwell (42.6% of hooker vote)

PROP – Kurt Sorensen (43.2% of prop vote)

SECOND ROW – Emosi Koloto (20.0% of second row vote)

SECOND ROW – Mick Adams (23.8% of second row vote)

LOOSE FORWARD – Vince Karalius (34.7% of loose forward vote)

BENCH – Phil McKenzie (10.2% of bench vote)

BENCH – David Hulme (14.3% of bench vote)

BENCH – Paul Hulme (11.0% of bench vote)

BENCH – Jonathan Davies (16.8% of bench vote)

HEAD COACH – Dougie Laughton (65.1% of head coach vote)

Celebrate Halton information

The aim of Celebrate Halton is to increase participation in quality cultural activity across Halton, helping more people experience the arts and to benefit from the role that culture can play in transforming lives – improving health and wellbeing, reducing social isolation, increasing community cohesion, inspiring creativity, supporting learning and making Halton a great place to live and work.

This will be achieved by celebrating the borough’s past, present and future through a programme of activity, ranging from small community-led activities to large-scale events.

Keep your eyes peeled for further information from Halton Borough Council on the events planned over the course of the coming months, as we all come together to Celebrate Halton in 2021.