About Us

Widnes Vikings are an English professional rugby league club based in Widnes, Cheshire who compete in the Betfred Championship and play their home fixtures at the DCBL Stadium, Halton.

Founded as Widnes Football Club, they are one of the original twenty-two rugby clubs that formed the Northern Rugby Football Union in 1895, making them one of the world’s first rugby league teams.

‘The Cup Kings’ enjoyed huge success in the 1970s, 1980s and early 1990s, with ‘The Chemics’ reaching seven Challenge Cup Finals in a 10 year period, asserting their dominance in the English game.

To this day, Widnes are the last English club side to defeat a touring Australia national team, beating the Kangaroos 11-10 at Naughton Park on Wednesday 25th October.

The most famous night in Widnes history came on Wednesday 4th October 1989, as they became the first official World Club Champions, defeating Australian champions Canberra Raiders 30-18 at Old Trafford.

Club Honours

World Club Champions


European Champions


Rugby League Champions

1977-78, 1987-88, 1988-89

Premiership Winners

1979-80, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1987-88, 1988-89, 1989-90

Challenge Cup Winners

1930, 1937, 1964, 1975, 1979, 1981, 1984

Lancashire Cup Winners

1945, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1978, 1979, 1990

Lancashire League Winners


John Player Trophy Winners

1976, 1979, 1992

BBC Floodlit Trophy Winners


Media Contact


Community Contact


Commercial Contact


Ticketing & Retail contact


Call us

0151 495 2250