Match Report: Whitehaven 64-6 Widnes Vikings

Widnes Vikings were defeated by Whitehaven on the road in Round 19 of the Betfred Championship.

Widnes were forced to name a reduced squad of 16 for the game due to several late injuries in Simon Finnigan’s team.

Whitehaven forged ahead five minutes into the contest as Karl Dixon got over on the left side after catching a kick from Louis Jouffret.

They doubled their lead three minutes later when James Newton was found on the inside by Lachlan Walmsley after a short-side play from the hosts.

The hosts were over again another three minutes after that when Andrew Bulman got over in the corner following a goal-line drop-out.

Despite a brief spell of Widnes pressure as the first half progressed, Haven added another with a couple of minutes until the break when Dion Aiye got over the line.

The hosts scored again on the stroke of half time when Walmsley got over in the corner after a grubber on the last.

Whitehaven continued their scoring run in the second half, Ryan King getting over after a break from Dion Aiye made up big yards for the hosts.

Haven scored again a couple of minutes later when Jake Bradley finished a move for the hosts, and added another when Andrew Bulman got over in the corner.

Lloyd Roby pulled one back for the Vikings on the hour mark, before Louis Jouffret added to the hosts’ lead after going the length to land under the sticks.

James Newton added another before Callum Phillips closed the contest at 64-6.

Whitehaven: Gregg McNally, Andrew Bulman, Chris Taylor, Karl Dixon, Lachlan Walmsley, Louis Jouffret, Nikau Williams, Andy Thornley, James Newton, Guy Graham, Liam Cooper, Ryan King, Tom Wilkinson.

Interchanges: Callum Phillips, Dion Aiye, Jake Bradley, Andrew Dawson.

Tries: Karl Dixon, James Newton (2), Andrew Bulman (2), Dion Aiye, Lachlan Walmsley, Ryan King, Jake Bradley, Louis Jouffret, Callum Phillips. Goals: Lachlan Walmsley (10/11).

Widnes Vikings: Jack Owens, Deon Cross, Jake Spedding, Lloyd Roby, Ollie Brookes, Danny Craven, Joe Lyons, Kenny Baker, Aiden Roden, Will Tilleke, Joe Edge, Adam Lawton, Owen Farnworth.

Interchanges: Connor Aspey, Paul Clough, Owen Buckley.

Try: Lloyd Roby, Goal: Jack Owens.