Fozard named in Wales World Cup squad

Widnes Vikings hooker Matty Fozard has been named in the Wales squad for the upcoming Rugby League World Cup.

Fozard, 27, has won nine caps for Wales, including in their mid-season international against France.

He is part of a 24-man squad named by Vikings head coach John Kear, who leads Wales into his second World Cup as coach.

“I’m honoured and excited to represent Wales at another World Cup,” he said. “I love representing my nan’s heritage and it is something I look forward to doing every year.

“It’s also great to get the opportunity to test myself against some of the best players in the world.

“I will represent the club and Wales the best I can, and hope that the competition is successful for us.”

There are three sets of brothers named in the squad – Rhys and Ben Evans, James and Ollie Olds, and Curtis and Connor Davies – which will be captained by Elliot Kear and includes Wales’ record appearance maker and tryscorer Rhys Williams.

Centre Luis Roberts, who spent a spell last season on loan at the DCBL Stadium, is also included.

Wales will be based in Preston during the tournament, with a warm-up fixture against Lebanon on Saturday (8 October), before playing their first group game against Cook Islands in Leigh on Wednesday 19 October.

Further group games follow against Tonga (Monday 24 October, St. Helens) and Papua New Guinea (Monday 31 October, Doncaster).

The squad in full is: Caleb Aekins (Leigh Centurions), Bailey Antrobus (York City Knights), Gavin Bennion (Rochdale Hornets), Joe Burke (West Wales Raiders), Chester Butler (Bradford Bulls), Mike Butt (Swinton Lions), Connor Davies (Workington Town), Curtis Davies (Whitehaven), Rhys Evans (Bradford Bulls), Will Evans (Whitehaven), Kyle Evans (Wakefield Trinity), Ben Evans (Bradford Bulls), Dan Fleming (Featherstone Rovers), Matty Fozard (Widnes Vikings), Dalton Grant (London Broncos), Tom Hopkins (Barrow Raiders), Elliot Kear (captain – Bradford Bulls), Rhodri Lloyd (Swinton Lions), James Olds (Valley Diehards), Ollie Olds (Valley Diehards), Josh Ralph (Mounties), Luis Roberts (Leigh Centurions), Anthony Walker (Bradford Bulls), Rhys Williams (Salford Red Devils).